Feb 032012

A reminder that our next Deanery Council meeting is set for April 21 2012 at the Church of the Ascension 1476 Sparks Street (1 block north of Lasalle Blvd off Barrydowne Road).

It begins at 9 AM with coffee and meeting each other.  Click here for the Agenda (also see below) . We will finish as close to 2:30 PM as possible. As you can see we have a full agenda.

Also note: each congregation needs to bring dues for 2012 ($10 for the year).   Also any who are required to give reports please have a paper copy or email them to Marion Collinson at marion.collinson@yahoo.ca.

See you April 21. Blessings in the name of the resurrected Jesus.

David Stamp
Chair, Deanery Council


Sudbury-Manitoulin Deanery Council

DRAFT Agenda

9:00 Am – 3:00 PM

April 21, 2012

Church of the Ascension, Sudbury

9:00 AM – Coffee meet and greet/set up

9:30-9:45 AM – welcome and opening

9:45AM – 1:30 PM Strategic Plan Updates

9:45 AM – Congregational Development Officer Jay Koyle

“workshops in congregational dynamics and maintaining healthy and growing Parishes”; “tools and resources for Deanery officials to assist them in the work of change management and the eventual implementation of recommendations arising from the work of Deanery Assessment Teams”

11:15 BREAK

11:25 AM – Diocesan Social Justice and Mission Committee – Beth Hewson, Kelly Baetz and Michelle Taylor

“what is social justice, how is it grounded in scripture; criteria for choosing and selecting activities and then a feedback /evaluation questions from  the  Deanery – what would the deanery like for future follow up.  The presentation is a starting point for the committee to help deaneries to think intentionally about the whys and hows of social justice and mission work”

12:15 PM – LUNCH

12:45 PM – Sharing from each Parish

From Rev. Anne Germond: “each parish speak for two or three minutes on how they are embracing the Vision of the Diocese”; “what have people done with anything that came out of the John Bowen day….how are they using the seven objectives (Strategic Plan) in their ministries and mission”


1:30 PM Reports:

Archdeacon – Rev. Anne Germond

Dean – Rev Paul Walmsley

Treasurer – Ursla Paxton

Lay Stewards – Dorothy Anstice/Don McLeod

ACW – Marion Collinson


PWDRF – Mary Donato


Program Associate – Marion Collinson

Youth and Children Ministry Facilitator – Cindy Derrenbacker

2:45 PM – Eucharist



Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.